CONSTITUTION

Of the

OTAWHAO MARAE INCORPORATED SOCIETY

NAME:

The name of the Society shall be "Otawhao Marae" (hereinafter called "the Marae").

AIMS AND OBJECTS:

The aims and objects of the Society shall be:

- 1. To develop an awareness and sensitivity of Maori values through living and experiencing Marae community activities.
- 2. To develop and promote the use of the Marae as an integrated centre for the learning of all cultures and in so doing support the understanding, tolerance and acceptance of other cultures.
- 3. To promote and encourage the multi-cultural use and development of the Te Awamutu College Marae and all its facilities.
- 4. To encourage the use of the Marae as a venue for school and community meetings.
- 5. To introduce tikanga Maori to pupils and staff at Te Awamutu College, pupils and staff at the local schools and people in the community generally.
- 6. To powhiri all manuwhiri as they visit.

MEMBERSHIP:

- 7. On the Executive Committee there should be:
 - ♦ One member of the Board of Trustees of the College
 - ♦ The Principal (or representative from Senior Management team)
 - ❖ Three members from the community(one of whom will be a representative of Te Wānanga o Aotearoa).
 - ♦ One teacher from the College
- 8. All members of the Executive shall have one vote each.
- 9. Five people present at any meeting shall constitute a quorum.
- 10. Open to all students and staff of Te Awamutu College [as of right].

- 11. All other members of the Marae Committee shall be admitted upon their support for the Marae Constitution aims and objectives.
- 12. That all members have speaking rights at meetings.

OFFICERS:

13. The officers shall be Chairperson, Secretary and Treasurer. These officers shall be elected at the Annual General Meeting of the Society.

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE:

The affairs of the Society shall be administered by an Executive Committee consisting of the officers and the Society:

The Executive will consist of at least one member of the Board of Trustees of Te Awamutu College, one member of senior management and one teacher. The other three places will be taken up by members of the community (one of whom will be a representative of Te Wānanga o Aotearoa).

- 14. All members of the Executive shall have one vote each. The Chairperson or in his or her absence the duly appointed Chairman of any Executive meeting shall have a casting vote only.
- 15. Five people present at any meeting shall constitute a quorum.
- 16. The Executive may co-opt further members to the Executive.

SUB-COMMITTEES:

17. The Executive may appoint sub-committees and may co-opt members as required.

GENERAL MEETINGS:

- 18. The Annual General Meeting and any Special General Meeting shall be held at such time and place as the Executive shall appoint and notice of any such meeting shall be given by an insertion in the Public Notices columns of the "Courier" newspaper or such other newspaper as the Executive may decide on at least one occasion not less than 14 days before the date of the meeting.
- 19. If five or more members request a Special General Meeting the Secretary will call such a meeting within 21 days of that request.

- 20. Ten members of the Society present at any Special General Meeting shall constitute a quorum.
- 21. Voting on any election of officers or Executive members shall be by a show of hands or if the President or any three members present shall so require then by secret ballot. Motions shall be voted by simple majority.
- 22. The Chairperson shall chair all General Meetings and shall in all matters be the arbiter of appropriate meeting procedure except as expressly provided herein. In the absence of the Chairperson the meeting may by simple majority vote elect its own Chairperson.

FINANCIAL YEAR:

23. The financial year shall be form the 1st January to 31st December.

TIME OF ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING:

- 24. An Annual General Meeting shall be held by the 31st of May of each year.
- 25. The Annual General Meeting shall appoint annually an honorary auditor.
- 26. All monies received by or on behalf of the Society shall be paid to the credit of the Society in an account with Westpac Trust at Te Awamutu or other Bank or Savings Bank from time to time to be fixed by the Executive and all cheques or withdrawal slips drawn on the account shall be signed by two persons designated by resolution of the Executive.
- 27. The Treasurer shall have discretion in expenditure of any amount up to \$300 in one withdrawal or cheque. Expenditure of amounts over \$300 must be approved by a simple majority resolution of the executive.

ALTERATIONS TO CONSITTUTION:

28. Any amendments or additions to this Constitution shall be passed by the vote of two-thirds majority of the members present at an Annual General Meeting or Special General Meeting of the Society. Notice of the meeting and the proposed amendments or additions shall be given at least fourteen days prior to the meeting in accordance with the provisions of Clause 21 hereof.

WINDING UP:

29. In the event of the Society being wound up, the surplus assets after payment of all liabilities and expenses of winding up shall be transferred to the Board of Trustees of the Te Awamutu College to use those assets for such purposes as are conducive to the attainment of the objects of the Society as stipulated herein.

INCORPORATION:

30. The Trust has been incorporated under and in compliance with the Charitable Trusts Act 1957 and the provisions of these Rules are deemed to be incorporated therein.

Date: 14th August 2012